PDA

View Full Version : aging

bathtub brewer
11-19-2014, 05:15 PM
I am new to mead making, Currently on my 4th batch. I keep hearing people say they age their mead for a year before drinking it. I guess I am curious what this does? None of my mead batches have lasted more than 3 months before they get consumed. They taste really good so wasn't too worried about it. Just wondering If I should start hiding a couple bottles per batch.

McJeff
11-19-2014, 05:50 PM
Take it as a compliment that it goes quick. I got stuff, I don't dare open it's so bad. Do try and hide 1-2 bottle out of each batch. Just so you know the difference.

bathtub brewer
11-19-2014, 06:43 PM
ok, I will. Thank you.

zapped
11-19-2014, 06:44 PM
I am new to mead making, Currently on my 4th batch. I keep hearing people say they age their mead for a year before drinking it. I guess I am curious what this does? None of my mead batches have lasted more than 3 months before they get consumed. They taste really good so wasn't too worried about it. Just wondering If I should start hiding a couple bottles per batch.

Hiding a few bottles wouldnt be a bad idea.

Im going to TRY to age my latest batch for a year and the pumpkin batch for almost a year as well (gonna open that one on Halloween)

mannye
11-20-2014, 11:47 AM
Aging does wonders. I've had some (not mine...because it goes too quick) that has been aged for one two and sometimes even more years. Night and day. It's the difference between mead tasting homemade and like a pro worked on it. But of course, that's also dependent on a myriad of factors so YMMV, FWIW and all the other acronyms. I do suggest you keep meticulous logs so that in three years when you open that bottle you forgot about and it's the best mead in the world, you remember how to reproduce it.

PitBull
11-20-2014, 05:33 PM