PDA

View Full Version : Mead Calc Question

Solarfusion
12-05-2014, 02:07 PM
I searched to see if something similar was posted before, but I can't seem to find anything, so if I did miss something, my apologies.

I am relatively new to Mead making. I've run a few batches and had some turn out great and some, well, quite the opposite. I've decided that it's time to document all of my batches with exact measurements etc.. so that I can turn out consistent batches, and eventually expand beyond making it a gallon at a time. In this, I am trying to use the Mead Batch Calculator to give me exact numbers and can't seem to make it match up.

What I'm looking for is 1 gallon target volume, 14% ABV and a final gravity of 1.015. I'm trying to figure out exactly how much honey I need to add use attain this goal.

When I use the potential Alcohol Conversion, it tells me that for a final gravity of 1.015, and a ABV of 14% I need a starting gravity of 1.092.

When I use the calculator, I check off Target Gravity and Target Volume. Target Volume - 1 Gallon. When I set the target Gravity SG to 1.092, it changes the %ABV to 12.22. If I change the %ABV to 14 it changes the SG to 1.107.

Can anyone tell me what I'm doing wrong? Thanks in advance.

EJM3
12-05-2014, 05:51 PM
you need 1.092 for the gravity drop, and 1.015 and the FG, the starting or SG would then be 1.107. You add the gravity drop plus the residual sugars to figure out the amount of sugars you need to start with. So 1.092 for sugars to ferment plus 1.015 for residual sugars = 1.107. But getting your yeasties to stop there is another matter entirely! They don't read so well, and never seem to listen, so they just go on and do as they will. You may end up high or low of your intended mark depending on a LOT of factors.