PDA

View Full Version : new noob here

oldhead
12-14-2014, 04:35 PM
Hi everyone, just joined and have been browsing for info. I have made wine for afew years and decided I would like to try mead after tasting it. I can't find this newbie guide anywhere and the one link I came across didn't work. Todat I bought my honey,yeast (lalavin d47) since I like sweet, energizer, nutrients, sanitizer, and a racking siphon. A few more odds and ends and I will get to brewing.

kudapucat
12-14-2014, 05:52 PM
Careful of your temps with that yeast, he can be a tricksy one.
The "newbee guide" note the spelling,should be available in a menu to the side of the forum page.

kudapucat
12-14-2014, 06:01 PM
Some things to remember.
Keep that yeast cool.
Don't adjust acidity up front like wine,it will probably stall.
Follow standard winemaking sanitation rules.

oldhead
12-14-2014, 06:34 PM
I have a small 8x6 room in the basement that stays cool. And the bigger section outside of that room has a vent. I'll check the temperature of both before I start. As for the side of the forum, I can't see it on the tablet so I' ll look when I get on the computer.

kudapucat
12-14-2014, 06:45 PM
Yeah. That's my issue. Hence the vague directions ;-)

Even with a cool basement, yeast make heat. Be ready with an old tee-shirt to put over it and wet, or sit in in another bucket to which you can add ice water.
That yeast goes funky over 19C

oldhead
12-15-2014, 07:37 AM
I found the pdf guide. Did a little reading last night and saw that it recommended that the racking tubing be food grade. Being in hvac we use 3/8 tubing but it is vinyl. Is there a problem with this since racking isn't a high temp operation or under pressure?

kudapucat
12-16-2014, 05:49 AM
Personally I don't really sorry, but some folk believe it can add plasticy flavours, or leech human hormone analogs.

oldhead
12-16-2014, 05:14 PM