• PATRONS: Did you know we've a chat function for you now? Look to the bottom of the screen, you can chat, set up rooms, talk to each other individually or in groups! Click 'Chat' at the right side of the chat window to open the chat up.
  • Love Gotmead and want to see it grow? Then consider supporting the site and becoming a Patron! If you're logged in, click on your username to the right of the menu to see how as little as $30/year can get you access to the patron areas and the patron Facebook group and to support Gotmead!
  • We now have a Patron-exclusive Facebook group! Patrons my join at The Gotmead Patron Group. You MUST answer the questions, providing your Patron membership, when you request to join so I can verify your Patron membership. If the questions aren't answered, the request will be turned down.

new noob here

Barrel Char Wood Products

oldhead

NewBee
Registered Member
Dec 14, 2014
new jersey
Hi everyone, just joined and have been browsing for info. I have made wine for afew years and decided I would like to try mead after tasting it. I can't find this newbie guide anywhere and the one link I came across didn't work. Todat I bought my honey,yeast (lalavin d47) since I like sweet, energizer, nutrients, sanitizer, and a racking siphon. A few more odds and ends and I will get to brewing.

oldhead

NewBee
Registered Member
Dec 14, 2014
new jersey
I have a small 8x6 room in the basement that stays cool. And the bigger section outside of that room has a vent. I'll check the temperature of both before I start. As for the side of the forum, I can't see it on the tablet so I' ll look when I get on the computer.

kudapucat

NewBee
Registered Member
Dec 2, 2010
Bundoora, Melbourne, Australia
Yeah. That's my issue. Hence the vague directions ;-)

Even with a cool basement, yeast make heat. Be ready with an old tee-shirt to put over it and wet, or sit in in another bucket to which you can add ice water.
That yeast goes funky over 19°C

oldhead

NewBee