PDA

View Full Version : Nucleation in BOMM

leuchtenbergia
02-07-2015, 04:48 PM
Howdy!

First time post from a new member.
I've been making mead for a few years and recently ran across the BOMM recipe.

I started two 1 gallon batches on 2 days ago. I measured SG yesterday and today and decided today was the day for the second batch of FermaidK and DAP.
I've never done SNA before. I read about nucleation issues before hand. I wasn't totally sure how to degass a nearly full carboy so I stirred it up with the hydrometer for a couple minutes. I measured the dry ingredients into a shot glass and poured some must/mead into the shot glass to fill it. I stirred up the nutrients well and thought I'd be okay dumping them in. WRONG! Major volcano and lost a fair amount of my precious mead of the future. So I'm not totally sure what I could do better next time and should I assume all those nutrients became lava and went out, or should I assume enough got in and hold off and only add the stuff again for the 3rd addition?

I've searched for solutions to this issue but only find recommendations to degass and mix dry ingredients with must, which I did.

I was pretty excited about trying the BOMM method and am pretty bummed about messing it up.

Thanks for any advice.

loveofrose
02-07-2015, 06:11 PM
That's pretty normal. I just add a very small amount a little bit at a time. I don't even bother dissolving anymore. Takes a while, but no wasted mead!

Better brewing through science!

See my Current Mead Making Techniques article here:
http://www.homebrewtalk.com/current-mead-making-techniques.html

joemirando
02-07-2015, 06:35 PM