PDA

View Full Version : When to rake (I know, 1000th time it has been asked)

SamWiseCA
02-17-2015, 02:48 PM
Ok, So I am green as green can be with this whole Mead thing. Here is where I stand:

On 2/13 I made my 2 identical batches:
1 gallon spring water
3 lbs Orange Blossom Honey
1/2 packet Lalvin EC-1118

Each are in a 2 gallon bucket with Air Lock.
I warmed the honey to pour easier to about 90 degrees, water was room temp 70 degrees.
Mixed the two together.
I got my yeast going, 105 degree water, and let it sit all happy for 20 minutes and added.
Added 1/8 tsp Yeast Energizer (Diammonium Phosphate, Springcell, Magnesium Sulphate) (per local shop)
Added 1/4 tsp Yeast Nutrient (Urea, Diammonium Phosphate) (per local shop)
I then aerated real well for 10 minutes with a whisk
SG: 1.090

2/14 - 24 hours later they are both bubbling away
I added:
Added 1/8 tsp Yeast Energizer
Added 1/4 tsp Yeast Nutrient
and 12oz Thawed berries (Raspberries in one, Black Berries in other)

2/15
I Added:

2/17
I measured SG, as bubble rate is slowing off ...
SG on both is now 1.010
I added final Nutrient Dose:

With the SG nearing 1.000 would it be appropriate to rake in the next few days?
Plan is to add more fruit in the secondary to up the berry flavor for my wife.
With the addition of Fruit to the secondary, my plan is:

Rake primary to a sterile carboy.
Clean and sterilize the the Buckets.
add it back to the bucket add fruit.
Wait 1 month.
Rake to glass carboy.
Wait to clear.
Rake.
Wash, rinse Repeat as necessary.
Somewhere in there, cold crash it back sweeten and bottle.
Put it in a closet and sample for Thanksgiving and Christmas.

From everything I am reading this seems to be getting to 1.010 very quickly. Is that normal for the 1118?
How is that plan for going forward, regardless of when I do the first rake?

McJeff
02-17-2015, 03:06 PM