PDA

View Full Version : My First mead

jking79
03-16-2015, 08:28 AM
Hi All

So purchased 5 gallon carboy and access to a lot of honey and really fancy trying my hand at mead.
I just want to do a simple honey mead.

I had browsed through a good few recipes and hoped to just use spices like cinnamon and nutmeg.
Could I add 1 litre of pure apple juice ? would this enhance flavor?
Also some help in controlling the flavor of such a mead i hope to get somewhere between dry and sweet.
I see carbonating with champagne yeast is quite popular so the do and dont on this would be great also.

Sorry for the total newbie questions any help is greatly appreciated

jking79
03-16-2015, 08:30 AM
Oh also in addition I have all the required sanitizing products :)
and sanitary conditions will be paramount
really need help on the other stuff

Squatchy
03-16-2015, 08:36 AM
If you can find where the newbee guide is these days that will help you a good bit getting started. Sorry to say I'm not sure how to find the place where it is stored.

Squatchy
03-16-2015, 08:42 AM
Read this!

http://www.gotmead.com/forum/showthread.php/23720-Newbie-questions

jking79
03-16-2015, 10:51 AM
This is great some great advice on the post thanks squatchy

jking79
03-16-2015, 11:09 AM
IS apple juice a bad idea ?
Do not want to use oranges

jking79
03-16-2015, 12:21 PM
Like some advice on yeasts and best to use.
WHich yeast will clear quickest ? also the benefits or constraints of champagne yeast vs Wine vs bread yeast?

curgoth
03-16-2015, 04:25 PM
Apple juice is fine. Makes it a cyser, adds flavour and some nutrients.