• PATRONS: Did you know we've a chat function for you now? Look to the bottom of the screen, you can chat, set up rooms, talk to each other individually or in groups! Click 'Chat' at the right side of the chat window to open the chat up.
  • Love Gotmead and want to see it grow? Then consider supporting the site and becoming a Patron! If you're logged in, click on your username to the right of the menu to see how as little as $30/year can get you access to the patron areas and the patron Facebook group and to support Gotmead!
  • We now have a Patron-exclusive Facebook group! Patrons my join at The Gotmead Patron Group. You MUST answer the questions, providing your Patron membership, when you request to join so I can verify your Patron membership. If the questions aren't answered, the request will be turned down.

Please be nice to me :-)

Barrel Char Wood Products

alex2020

NewBee
Registered Member
Dec 19, 2014
Total NewBee here.

1. Michael Fairbrother recommends using 1gram of Lalvin 71B 1122 per gallon.
I started one gallon of regular mead (honey, water, yeast) with OG - 1.148
Do you think it is enough to use just 1 gram of yeast with 2 grams of Go Ferm?
Is there something wrong if you put more, except wasting the yeast?

2. He recommends nutrition schedule:
3/4 tsp of the blend immediately after pitching the yeast
3/4 tsp of the blend 24 hours after fermentation begins
3/4 tsp of the blend 48 hours after fermentation begins
3/4 tsp of the blend after 30% of the sugar has been depleted
My “problem”: when I started with OG - 1.148 when is 30% of sugar depleted?
Please, do not yell at me. I told you I am total newbee. :)

alex2020

NewBee
Registered Member
Dec 19, 2014
What is going on?
So far 16 people looked at this posting and no response?
Do I find expert here? :cool:

loveofrose

Got Mead? Patron
GotMead Patron
Nov 9, 2012
Texas
Hi alex2020. Most of use in the states are at work! You gotta be a bit more patient.

Now to your questions: lots wrong here.