PDA

View Full Version : Any tips on controlling temperature during fermentation?

spartan36
04-05-2015, 02:41 PM
How do you keep must temperature within the acceptable range during fermentation? I live in an old house on the coast, and temperatures often swing from over 80 to below 65 in a given 24 hr. period. I can't seem to find a place in the house where temps are either too warm, or too cold (cold is the main problem right now). Any tips?

Thanks.

bluestone
04-05-2015, 03:12 PM
Im no expert, but I guess bigger volume of liquids wont be to susceptible to temperature variations. Anyway I know it exists things like heat pads/mats, belts, elements etc, but I thought that was used more if the temperatues was really really low.

Is it a specific yeast that dont perform in your available temperature range?

Irigoite
04-05-2015, 04:35 PM
Look what this guy did in Brazil with an old fridge and a lamp.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U_qoyZfAwgQ

Seth8530
04-05-2015, 09:08 PM
I use a deep freezer with a temperature controller that is inserted via a steel pipe into the mead to control the temperature of my ferments. Low and slow is the name of my game.

Medsen Fey
04-06-2015, 06:14 AM
A brew belt can keep things warm. I use an old freezer to keep things cool. You can also use yeast that tolerate a wide range such as K1V.

Sent from my THINGAMAJIG with WHATCHAMACALLIT

miss_rach
04-06-2015, 12:01 PM
if you ferment in warmer environments like I do down here in FL, the best I can do (outside of buying a glycol jacket tank) is use a water bath. I put the carboy in a tub put some water in the tube then wrap a wet beach towel around the carboy and make sure some of it sits in the water. Water evaporates and keeps the carboy cool.

Medsen Fey
04-06-2015, 12:22 PM
Using a fan with that setup will make it work better.

Sent from my THINGAMAJIG with WHATCHAMACALLIT

Chevette Girl
04-06-2015, 10:51 PM