PDA

View Full Version : First mead batch - slow fermentation?

lumanaughty
05-12-2015, 05:38 PM
This is my first time brewing anything, and it seems like my fermentation is going slow. Below are my notes and today is day 17. Should I add anything to the mead, change the temperature, or just wait?

Ingredients

1.5 Gallons of Nick’s Raw Honey (fresh and viscous)
3.5 Gallons of well water
2 tsp Brewcraft yeast energizer
2 tsp Brewcraft yeast nutrient
2 packets of Lalvin - 71B-1122

Directions

Clean and sterilize everything
Heat water to 90 degrees and added honey
Put burner on low and stirred honey
Added yeast, nutrient, and energizer
Siphoned into 5 gallon carboy
Took hydrometer reading (should have done before yeast, etc)

Timeline
Started fermentation on Saturday April 25th

Temperature 66
Hydrometer reading was 1.130 - took after adding yeast, nutrient, and energizer

24 hr

Did a ph test at the local brew store and added 10 tsb of Brewcraft Acid Blend
Saw nice big bubbles on the surface

4 days

Fermentation process seems slow 1 bubble every 10 seconds
Increased temperature to 69
Added 1/2 tsp of nutrient & energizer
Agitated mead, but twisting the carboy on the ground

13 days

Hydrometer reading was 1.114
pH 4.56 - electronic meter

16 days

Fermentation process seems slow 1 bubble every 30 seconds

Thank you...

-Bryan

MeadMakr
05-12-2015, 09:15 PM
This fermentation is slow.

I can't tell from your process, did you rehydrate your yeast before you pitched? And was the must temperature 66 degrees when you pitched, or did you mix the yeast in while the must was still heating on the burner?

I'd probably pitch new rehydrated yeast, mixing in with heavy aeration (making a vortex by twisting the carboy as fast as you feel comfortable without spilling).

lumanaughty
05-12-2015, 10:57 PM
How to you rehydrate yeast? I didn't see anything about that when I was looking at recipes.