• PATRONS: Did you know we've a chat function for you now? Look to the bottom of the screen, you can chat, set up rooms, talk to each other individually or in groups! Click 'Chat' at the right side of the chat window to open the chat up.
  • Love Gotmead and want to see it grow? Then consider supporting the site and becoming a Patron! If you're logged in, click on your username to the right of the menu to see how as little as $30/year can get you access to the patron areas and the patron Facebook group and to support Gotmead!
  • We now have a Patron-exclusive Facebook group! Patrons my join at The Gotmead Patron Group. You MUST answer the questions, providing your Patron membership, when you request to join so I can verify your Patron membership. If the questions aren't answered, the request will be turned down.

Cider maker wanting to make mead

Barrel Char Wood Products

Maylar

Got Mead? Patron
GotMead Patron
May 23, 2015
Connecticut
Hi folks - noob here, looking for a bit of guidance.

I'm an experienced cider maker and am looking to make my first mead. I'll be using the JAOM recipe and I have a couple of questions.

Bread yeast? Is that because it's easily available, or does it contribute to the end product somehow? I have a variety of ale and wine yeasts to choose from, including 71B and EC1118 - are they a better choice?

No nutrients? I always add yeast nutrient to my ciders when I pitch the yeast. I see threads here suggesting a staggered regimen of nutrient and DAP - I have those compounds available - should I use them?

My plan would be for a sweet still mead, no carbonation. Probably rack to secondary in a couple months and age until Thanksgiving. Does mead finish sweet, or will it go dry to 1.000 like cider? I'd rather not stabilize with chemicals and backsweeten, but I will if that's the best path to where I want to go.

TIA

mannye

Administrator
Administrator
Oct 10, 2012
Miami Beach, FL