PDA

View Full Version : Has my mead stop Fermenting???

thesanders
07-16-2015, 07:51 AM
I'm new to mead making and have been very excited about the progress until last night when I took a gravity reading registering at 1.000. I started at 1.115 on July 4th (11 days ago). I want a semi sweet mead and have 20 lbs of honey, 6.5 lbs of blackberries in a 6.5 gallon bucket. It smells wonderful and maybe I'm stressing over nothing. Has it finished and needs to be racked or could I have a stuck fermination? I used EC-1118 yeast. I'm just worried about my 20 lbs of liquid gold (honey).

loveofrose
07-16-2015, 08:31 AM
Sounds like a healthy fermentation. Congrats. 1.000 is bone dry. It cannot ferment any farther. If you want it semi-sweet, you will need to step feed or stabilize and backsweeten.

Better brewing through science!

See my brewing site at www.denardbrewing.com

See my Current Mead Making Techniques article here:
http://www.homebrewtalk.com/current-mead-making-techniques.html

thesanders
07-16-2015, 04:24 PM
Thanks for your reply bi really though 20 lbs of honey would be sweet enough. I'm struggling with adding more honey. I'll research your suggestions to figure out how to step feed or back sweeten. Thanks again. I feel much better.

thesanders
07-16-2015, 09:02 PM
Can you give a recommedation on how much honey to add if I step feed? Can I start with a 1.5 lb of honey? Then check the gravity. I just tasted a sample after pulling the fruit and oh boy is it strong. Definitely needs to be sweetened.

Stasis
07-17-2015, 09:42 AM
Having the mead at 1.000 does not mean that it absolutely cannot ferment anymore since meads could ferment below 1.000. It should be more or less finished though. It depends why you want to step feed. Since you used Ec-1118 it would be hard to take the mead past the yeast's alcohol tolerance in order to end with a sweeter mead. The mead could end up with a final alcohol level of at least 18%.