PDA

View Full Version : Unpasteurized honey

Izzie1701
08-24-2015, 01:44 AM
I am going to attempt my first mead. Have made wine and beer before but I am new to mead. We have a friend that is going to supply us with honey straight from the hive. My question is this honey will be raw and unpasteurized. With beer I have always boiled which would kill any foreign bacteria. With meads everything I read says not to boil. So how do I insure I don't get off flavors in fermentation with potential foriegn bacteria. Ang thoughts? Boil don't boil? Thank you in advance.

hobbitfu
08-24-2015, 07:17 AM
Pitch an adequate amount of properly rehydrated yeast and provide staggered nutrients additions. A healthy fermentation will dominate any potential wild yeast and alcohol content will then be inhospitable to bacteria.

Other more experienced posters will provide more and better advice I'm sure (I'm primarily a beer brewer... But am conditioning my first mead - unboiled)

bmwr75
08-24-2015, 09:44 AM
Bacteria don't grow well in honey. So, the current thinking is to NOT boil the honey. Boiling honey changes the flavor profile of the final mead. Not necessarily worse, just different flavor.

mannye
08-26-2015, 05:09 PM
I am going to attempt my first mead. Have made wine and beer before but I am new to mead. We have a friend that is going to supply us with honey straight from the hive. My question is this honey will be raw and unpasteurized. With beer I have always boiled which would kill any foreign bacteria. With meads everything I read says not to boil. So how do I insure I don't get off flavors in fermentation with potential foriegn bacteria. Ang thoughts? Boil don't boil? Thank you in advance.