PDA

View Full Version : How can I get a molasses flavor to my mead?

JewishMonk
08-29-2015, 10:16 AM
I am attempting to make a mead reminiscent of my dear grandmother's pfeffernüsse cookies, which were spicy and heavy with molasses and pepper. I have done enough research to know that fermenting molasses smells like burned tires and the ass of Satan. Not quite like Christmas cookies.

I am considering making a spicy metheglin and backsweetening with molasses, but I'd like to know if there are any other options to consider. I have been told that sorghum molasses is much lower in iron, but I have no experience with it.

Any thoughts?

valverij
08-29-2015, 12:58 PM
Buckwheat honey has a pretty molasses-y flavor. If you used it, I'd recommend cutting it with another honey, though, as it has a really strong flavor.

I've also read that bamboo honey (Japanese knotweed) is similar, but with a milder flavor.

JewishMonk
08-29-2015, 04:39 PM
Ooh, I've never tried buckwheat honey before. Apparently it can have a bit of an "earthy" flavor to it. Well, I AM looking for a strong flavor.
Ah, what the hell? I'm gonna try it. If that doesn't work, I'll look for another idea.

bernardsmith
08-29-2015, 09:48 PM
I agree that you may want to cut the buckwheat honey with something else - perhaps clover honey. The first time I made mead - more than 20 years ago I used buckwheat honey and I never made another mead again until about two or three years ago it was so ... um... unpleasant.

JewishMonk
08-29-2015, 10:27 PM
Okay, fair enough. I have already ordered the honey though, so it's getting used one way or another. Does the flavor of the honey change significantly once it's fermented or will the taste of the raw honey be a good indicator of the mead? I've never used anything but clover up until now

The reason I ask is because I have a history of enjoying foods that most people shy away from. It's entirely possible that buckwheat honey is amazing

ostensibly
08-30-2015, 08:23 AM