PDA

View Full Version : Critique of plan for step fed meads?

nkurz
09-23-2015, 09:07 PM
I'm a first time meadmaker planning to jump in with both feet. I like Bray's modern approach (https://denardbrewing.com/blog/category/articles/) , and am planning to apply it to four 3-gallon batches made with four different yeasts (WY1388, DV10, D21, K1-V1116).

This is my first time making mead, but I feel like I have a good handle on general food chemistry, reasonably understand fermentation, and can follow basic scientific sanitary practices. The friend I'm making this with has lots of beer brewing experience, some lab experience, but no mead experience.

The target is an aromatic heavy bodied 15-20% alcohol semi-dry to semi-sweet mead that emphasizes the honey. I'm planning to add Opti-White and Booster Blanc to increase the body (and because I already bought them). I can skip them if advised to.

I'm using unfiltered honey from my backyard hives in suburban Bay Area California. Unknown flowers, but honey is very dark, slightly sour, and delicious. If I step feed to refusal at 2 oz per gallon to these yeasts, about how much honey should I expect to use per gallon by the time I'm done?

I'd appreciate critique of my proposed plan:

4 x 3 gallon batches.
4 different yeasts: DV10, D21, K1-1116V, WY1388

T-2hrs: Smack 1388 wet yeast packet.

T-1.25 hrs:
Add 12g packet of Booster Blanc and 6g packet of Opti-White to 1 cup of sterile room temperature water. Stir to dissolve.

T-1hr: Pour 2.5 gallons room temperature bottled spring water into each of 4 sterilized buckets, each labelled with one yeast variety.

Add 4 tsp potassium carbonate to each bucket (1.3 tsp per gallon)
Add 1 tsp DAP to each bucket. (.3 tsp per gallon)
Add 2 tsp Fermaid K to each bucket. (.6 tsp per gallon)

Add 2 quarts honey to each bucket (about 6 lbs honey, 3 lbs per gallon). Stir to dissolve with a (sterilized) stirring attachment on a cordless drill. When mostly mixed, stop to rehydrate dry yeasts.