PDA

View Full Version : I have some questions about stirring?!

xanthony00
09-25-2015, 10:45 PM
I'm sure it's been said before, but I keep getting mixed information from forums and recipes. Here is the recipe that I'm using, and it calls for stirring daily until the primary fermentation is almost complete.
http://traditionalmead.blogspot.com/p/way.html
(I used about 16lbs of clover honey and started with an S.G. of 1.130)
Now I'm at about 1.076 S.G. and have added my second dose of nutrients for the yeast. It's going pretty well, but I have some questions.

1. So what's the deal with stirring what effects does it have on the taste?
2. What happens when I don't stir at all?
3. When should I stop opening it to stir it?
4. Did I make a mistake by stirring it?
5. Do you think this Recipe is decent?
6. I'm considering just leaving it alone from this point forward, but I'm really hesitant to deviate from the recipe because It's my first time making mead.
7. What about using a wine whip?
8. I've heard it can be better to degas right before bottling, or just to let it sit for some months to let it settle out.
I also have to admit, I'm extremely worried about it getting contaminated, I've done a good job at keeping everything clean, it smells really good so far.

If anyone can help, I'd appreciate it a lot. Thanks!

Squatchy
09-26-2015, 09:48 AM