PDA

View Full Version : Moonlight Meadery Last Apple "clone" wanted

Mrmaxx
09-30-2015, 04:08 PM
I'm looking to make my first mead/metheglyn. I drank a bottle of Moonlight Meadery's Last Apple the other night. THat's GOOD stuff! I want to clone it for a couple reasons: 1) it's bloody expensive ($22/23 for 375ml) and 2) it's a limited edition. They don't go into much detail other than that they use fresh apple juice/cider, honey and age it in oak barrels.
Does anyone have suggestions on a) what TYPE of honey to use, b) how much, c) what yeast (would Bourgovin work? It's supposed to put off fruity esters) d) instead of aging on oak barrels, would something like oak spirals work? e) if oak spirals work, what type of oak spirals and how much for how long? :)
As I said, I'm pretty new to mead, but I've done a LOT of ciders (been making variations on the Caramel Apple Hard Cider from Homebrewtalk for awhile... about 20-30 gallons of it so far! :D)

gr8nhbrewer
10-02-2015, 05:57 PM
So we started with the last pressing of apples in the season, that's here in NH, around March, it takes twice as many apples to get that same gallon of cider as it would in say October. With that we blended the honey and cider, 25%/75% of each by volume. We use L-71B yeast, with staggered nutrients, and let it age and ferment in freshly emptied Jim Beam bourbon barrels.

Cheers,
Michael
Moonlight Meadery LLC

gr8nhbrewer
10-02-2015, 05:58 PM
We used Wild Flower honey.

zpeckler
10-02-2015, 08:29 PM
OMG... This is exactly why I love the meadmaking community!

mannye
10-04-2015, 12:38 AM
So we started with the last pressing of apples in the season, that's here in NH, around March, it takes twice as many apples to get that same gallon of cider as it would in say October. With that we blended the honey and cider, 25%/75% of each by volume. We use L-71B yeast, with staggered nutrients, and let it age and ferment in freshly emptied Jim Beam bourbon barrels.

Cheers,
Michael
Moonlight Meadery LLC