PDA

View Full Version : First Attempt At Mead - Using D47 Yeast

Mike72677
10-05-2015, 07:55 PM
I've been making wine for 2 - 3 years and decided to give mead a shot. I want to have a sweeter mead. Here's what I started with:

4 lbs of fall honey (dark)
13 cups of water
1/4 tsp of tannin
3/4 tsp nutrient
2 campden tablets
3 tsp malic acid
1 1/2 tsp tartaric
1 pack D47 Lalvin yeast

My starting SG was 1.126

Do I keep checking it and stop fermentation, will it stop on it's own because the yeast is exhausted, do you back sweeten? Thanks for any advice!

pokerfacepablo
10-06-2015, 04:48 AM
Always keep checking your mead but before you start this batch check out the newbee tab and it will give you all info you need for your first batch. Mead is more fickle than you think. It needs nutrients and aeration the first 1/3 of its fermentation. I feed it once daily (staggered nutrient addition ) and stir it 3 times daily until the end of the first third.

Also D47 loves temps in the low 60's otherwise you'll have rocket fuel at the end of fermentation.

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk

ostensibly
10-06-2015, 07:45 AM
A couple of thoughts:

With that honey:water ratio you're looking at a starting gravity of 1.19, which isn't impossible but with D-47 it'll take a while to smooth out - probably more than a year. With your projected ABV of 23%(!) and the estimated tolerance of D-47 of 14% you'll end up with something quite sweet. I'd add more water or cut back the honey - you can always add more honey in later if the finished product is too dry.

Current best practice is to add tannins and acids after fermentation is complete, when you can adjust to taste. Many people don't add acid to mead, but tannins are common (oak, etc)

I also recommend rehydrating your yeast in Go-Ferm to ensure a healthy pitch.

Mike72677
10-06-2015, 11:11 AM
A couple of thoughts: