PDA

View Full Version : Making Enough for Home Use

winecarver
10-12-2015, 07:52 AM
I'm pretty new to wine and mead making, but have some going. I'm curious how to produce enough to meet my needs. Let's say that I want to drink a bottle a week (we don't drink a lot and a bottle a week is way more than we drink now) how would I go about producing that? If I have to age for months, etc. it seems my vessels are tied up and production stops. Right now I only have 1 gallon carboys (6 of them). I'm not sure I want to spend a lot either.

Just curious how to figure out what my production needs would be.

brottman
10-12-2015, 08:30 AM
There's 52 weeks in a year. Two 6 gallon carboys would make 55-60 standard size bottles of wine. That would satisfy drinking 52 bottles a year, plus a little extra to stockpile.

So 12 gallons a year is your answer.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

brottman
10-12-2015, 08:35 AM
To add to my response though, you may consider doing double or even triple that the first year, so that you have enough to age properly. After that, you can scale down to 12 gallons a year to simply maintain your stock, always drinking from your oldest bottles.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

Stasis
10-12-2015, 09:46 AM
I'd buy larger carboys. I've found that 2nd hand carboys are VERY cheap. Just make sure there are no chips or hairline cracks. Using larger carboys also cuts down on the work needed. You can still use the smaller carboys for test batches or store some mead for topping off the larger carboys

Stasis
10-12-2015, 09:49 AM
And what brottman said. If you have some mead in bulk aging you might still want to make some more mead at intervals to keep the chain of aged meads going

winecarver
10-12-2015, 10:04 AM
I don't want to wait a year to drink what I'm making now! :)

I guess I could make some of those 'quick meads/melomels' to hold me over.

What's a good source for used carboys?

JewishMonk
10-12-2015, 10:19 AM