PDA

View Full Version : Just started my first batch

pwizard
10-17-2015, 04:59 PM
I just got done making my first-ever batch! I have no previous homebrew experience so this is a huge accomplishment.

I'm trying to make a simple, straight mead (nothing fancy this time). I'm using Lalvin D47, 6 lbs of local wildflower honey I got direct from the beekeeper at a farmer's market a few weeks ago, and 2 gallons of spring water. I used about 1-1.5 tsp nutrients per gallon (urea + diammonium phosphate). I ended up with about 2.5 gal in my primary bucket because the honey added some volume. I only used 6 lbs because I heard you're supposed to use 3lbs/gal.

My OG is 1.095. That seems kind of low but do you think it will be ok? My hydrometer says that will optimally end up at 11-12%ABV. I was aiming for 14% so in hindsight I should have added more honey. It's too late now, though. I sampled the raw must from the hydrometer after I was done and it tasted good-- sweet but not thick cloying sweet. I suspect it will come out pretty dry but I can always back-sweeten if I don't like it how it is, right?

I'm fermenting in a spare bathroom, about 5 foot square. There's not much room in there for much but a toilet and a sink. There are no windows (pitch black with the light off) and since the door is kept shut it is a bit cooler than the rest of the house with the AC on. Right now my house is about 70 degrees. I wish it were colder but I have no way to make that happen, unfortunately.

I'm wondering if I screwed up the yeast, though. I put about 1 1/2 cups of spring water in a coffee mug and heated it up to about 95-100F in the microwave. i opened the packet, put the yeast in the cup, stirred, and let it sit for 15 minutes. It didn't get all bubbly before I pitched it into the must, so did I do something wrong?

Crowing
10-17-2015, 05:23 PM