PDA

View Full Version : Troubles with first cyser

QueensFavoriteDrone
11-07-2015, 01:17 AM
This is my first attempt at a Cyser. I am concerned I may have introduced an infection, or otherwise erred, as the mead has a very unpleasant taste and odor. It's very hot on the tongue as one would expect at this early stage, but there is a strong medicinal odor and taste which overwhelms the mild flavor of a very young Chardonnay in the background. I'm looking for some reassurance that this doesn't herald a failure, and if I should cut my losses; or if this is typical for a mead which hasn't even had it's first racking, yet.

Ingredients:
15 lbs Wildflower
4 cans of organic apple juice concentrate
4 gallons distilled water

Meadmaking process:

Honey was raw and had crystallized. Heated jars using a sous vide water bath to 140F to simultaneously return mead to its liquid state, and Pasteurize.

Allowed frozen apple juice concentrate to thaw in refrigerator.

Mixed honey with water. Poured into 6 gallon carboy. Sprayed sealed apple juice containers with Star San. Opened containers and poured apple juice concentrate into carboy. Added remainder of water.

Crushed 5 Campden Tablets and added to must. Waited 24 hours.

Hydrated two packages of 71B dry yeast in 200ml of distilled water which had been boiled and poured into Erlenmeyer flask and allowed to cool, covered, to 105 F.
Hydrated DAP and Wyeast yeast nutrient (quantities recommend on package for volume of must) in boiled distilled water.

O.G. 1.113

Aerated must with pure oxygen for 30 seconds.

Pitched yeast and nutrient blend.

No activity was observed for one day. After one day, fermentation began. After 12 more hours, fermentation was extremely vigorous.

After 3 days from the onset of vigorous fermentation, CO2 release began to slow. Gravity was checked at this time. 1.080.