PDA

View Full Version : Gravity not changing but tons of fizz

brgeren
11-19-2015, 03:33 AM
Hi all! I'm new to GotMead (and mead making), however I've been brewing beer and making sodas for a few years.

Anyway, I have made 5 one gallon batches of mead with an OG at 1.08-1.12. All are in 2 gallon fermentation buckets and currently stored in my newly created fermentation chamber holding an ambient temperature of 64 (moved up from 60 hoping to solve my problem). I am planning 2 traditional meads (a dry and a sweet), 2 melomels (fruit in secondary), 1 cyser. I made them all five days ago, no boil but well sanitized, used GoFerm and followed the instructions for rehydrating although there is a chance I pitched when the temp difference was greater than 10 degrees.

After 24 hours I checked the airlock and saw no activity. I figured that was fine since the fermentation chamber was really cool so I waited.

After 48 hours, there was still no airlock activity, but this time I figured fermentation had to have started, so I followed the SNA rules by degassing (resulting in a decent amount of fizz and bubbling) and added 1/2t of Fermaid K to each gallon. I measured the gravity and all of them had the same (or slightly higher by up to .004) gravity as the OG.

After 72 hours, there was little airlock activity, but there was a ton of fizz/foam during degassing. I measured the gravity again and no change. I still added 1/2t of Fermaid K since it seemed like there was a ton of fizz. I also changed the fermentation ambient temp to 64 (from 60) since I was wondering if the temp was a bit too low. Granted I assume the ambient temp should be lower than the actual temp inside the bucket especially with fermentation occurring, but still I was at a loss for what else could be wrong.