PDA

View Full Version : Regarding degassing

Sevedrir
12-12-2015, 10:15 PM
Hi all,
I'm pretty new to meadmaking, and I've not seen a definitive answer to this question, and I've looked far and wide. What I need is a professional opinion on this, as it's been a matter of debate between me and a few friends.
Degassing during fermentation, it's supposed to speed up fermentation and make life easier for the yeast as honey is rather devoid of the nutrients the yeast so richly deserves and desires, which is from what I've been able to gather the reason for the staggered nutrient approach too.

It'd be great to get a professional's opinion on this, to answer this question once and for all, because I rather need to know.

Thanks!

bmwr75
12-12-2015, 11:22 PM
What is the question?

Degassing releases CO2, which is a good thing with respect to maintaining yeast health.

Squatchy
12-13-2015, 01:26 AM
Yea,, your question is not very defined at all. You need to degass so your must doesn't get to toxic for the yeast. Do it aggressively until mid point in your fermentation,,, or when ever you stop feeding your yeast. minimum. I degass every other day until my fermentation has stopped entirely.

fatbloke
12-13-2015, 05:31 AM
Ok, so this phrase "de-gassing" is often used in the wrong way (at the wrong time in the "make" process).

You would agitate the hell out of a must before pitching/adding yeast, so there's some oxygen in the mix. This is to aid yeast colony development.

Then once the ferment is underway, any further agitation is to try and get a bit more air/O2 in for continued development/improvement of the yeast colony.

We generally suggest this is done to the 1/3rd sugar break (one third of the way between start and finish gravity - presuming a finish at 1.000).

The point being that it gives a guide as to when to change from the aerobic stage to anaerobic.