PDA

View Full Version : Use Birch ash as ph adjustment?

pedroblom
01-08-2016, 03:18 AM
Hi.

I'm a mead newbie from Sweden.
In the forums I read about using potassium bicarbonate for ph adjustment.

I just can't find any place to buy that stuff here. The nearest thing is natrium bicarbonate. Can I use this instead

Or can I use Birch ash? I use Birch ash to lower the ph in my body. You boil Birch ash with water, let it cool and filter it. Then you keep it in the fridge and use 15ml in a glass of water.

I was thinking I could use this to adjust the ph. Have anyone tried?

Skickat från min GT-I9506 via Tapatalk

pwizard
01-08-2016, 10:57 PM
I've never heard of using Birch ash before but I've also never had a problem with PH before. Are you sure your mead actually needs a PH adjustment? If it's fermenting properly, just continue to take care of it (degas/step feed as necessary) and don't worry about the PH unless your yeast slows down or stops before the right time.

willowhix
01-09-2016, 06:54 PM
Hi.

I just can't find any place to buy that stuff here. The nearest thing is natrium bicarbonate. Can I use this instead

Or can I use Birch ash? I use Birch ash to lower the ph in my body. You boil Birch ash with water, let it cool and filter it. Then you keep it in the fridge and use 15ml in a glass of water.

I'm not exactly sure what the ash looks, smells and tastes like after boiling and filtering but my assumption would be that anything "ashy" wouldn't have a great impact on the taste of your mead. Just out of curiosity, what do you mean you use it to lower the pH of your body? As in a substitute for bicarbonate of soda?

joemirando
01-09-2016, 11:01 PM
Hi.

You can use natrium (sodium) bicarbonate, but using too much of it can result in a metallic taste. I have used it and found it to be less effective than potassium bicarb, but it will work.