PDA

View Full Version : Mead Fermentation problems

Alaskamead
01-11-2016, 01:02 AM
I am new to mead making. I started a 5 gallon batch two weeks ago my starting gravity was 1.080 and now after two weeks its at 1.010-1.000. The must got some crazy bubbles that got up and into the airlock, and its bubbling about ones every 15-25 seconds. the taste is not very good not sweet at all. My question is how can I save this batch, do I need to add more honey nutrients, energizer. or just start over. Any help would be great.

My recipe

13 lbs of honey
2 tsp yeast energizer
3 tsp yeast nutrient
D-47 Yeast (two Packs)

Squatchy
01-11-2016, 01:29 AM
So your final gravity is either one or the other. It can't be both. You haven't told us enough about how you managed this batch for us to help much at this point. You could have done several things wrong to contribute to the bad results.
Better logs will get you better answers.
Speak to these things please.
Rehydration protocol, pitch temps, feeding schedule, temp management, degassing/aeration, racking, type of water, age of your yeast.

It won't be sweet with that yeast and that amount of honey. But, it might have off flavors as well depending on how you managed the above.

bernardsmith
01-11-2016, 10:08 AM