View Full Version : upcoming batch ideas

Hillside Heathen
01-21-2016, 01:47 PM
I was thinking of starting two batches in a month or so and was hoping you would give me some pointers, tips and/or suggestions. Im also looking to make something different than the all too common Orange Blossom or Wild Flower meads...

I have very little experience with this so im not looking to get too scientific just yet or add any fruit, I like things pure and simple. I have a hydrometer and im getting my numbers from the calculator on the forum.

- One 3 gal batch with 12lbs of raw goldenrod honey. Using EC-1118
This one should hit 1.144 at start and probably top out just over 18% alc. maybe more with this yeast.

- One 5 maybe 5.5 gal batch with 15lbs of raw bamboo honey from ebeehoney. Im guessing its really Japanese Knotweed honey...? It's extremely dark, almost completely black but doesn't smell unpleasant.
Also EC-1118.
Starting Grav 1.108 topping at around 14% alc.

Im thinking both of these may end up dry because I dont plan on forcing the fermentation to stop using chemicals, I'll cold crash and rack a few times if I have to, but I think these should have pretty different flavor profiles and hopefully be pretty tasty with some aging...

01-21-2016, 02:57 PM
I love dry traditionals, totally my bread and butter! Like Oskaar, I'm a strong advocate of perfecting your traditional technique before trying anything wild and crazy.

The goldenrod one might finish off-dry since your potential alcohol is about 19.5%. EC-1118 is a beast, though. You might be able to get it that high with good fermentation management, though.

I have to admit, I've never used EC-1118. It's got a reputation for vigorous fermentations that can blow off delicate aromatics. For my traditionals my yeast of choice is K1V, and have gotten great results with D47 and 71B as well. I know from first-hand experience that K1V can get up to 18% if you want it to.