PDA

View Full Version : Yet Another Newbee

daisyd681
01-24-2016, 03:47 PM
I posted in the JAOM thread last night, when I probably should have posted here (I blame the reisling). Anyway, because all of my fiber arts and jewelry hobbies apparently aren't enough I've decided to take on mead (and beer for the hubby to help keep me occupied while I wait on the mead. Lol)

I've been in love with mead since I was given some homebrew at a party many years ago, but the only time I can get it is at the Celtic festival in Flagstaff or when we go to Oregon. I'm not new to yeast. I've had my very own fridge pet (his name is Fred) sourdough starter for about a year now. I am new to any kind of intentional fermentation for drinking purposes though.

I'm not brewing JAOM specifically. I followed a very similar recipe from another site. I found this place after I got my first gallon bubbling along.

My brew is as follows:

2 lbs raw local wildflower honey
1 lb processed wildflower honey (it was the only way to get to the 3 lbs from the recipe)
1 peeled blood orange (I despise pith. I spend whatever time it takes to remove it when eating an orange.)
~25 raisins (whatever is in the Sunkist mini box)
1 packet Red Star Cote des Blancs yeast (recipe called for champagne yeast, but I like sweet and this said that it finishes sweeter)
1 gallon distilled water (no chlorine was what the recipe said. I didn't think about trace minerals at all)
I made it on the 19th and it's been at a steady 1 blip/5-7 seconds since.

I don't like the idea of a bunch of additives. It's not really a hippie natural thing (though there's a bit of that) it's more that I get a kick out of making things truer to their original methods.