PDA

View Full Version : Bottle Carbonation with 71B?

Farmboyc
01-26-2016, 12:28 AM
I was contemplating making a sparkling cider or cyser. I am interested in using 71B as my yeast due it's ability to ferment malic acid. I was looking to bottle carbonate this and have a question.

There are numerous posts/resources warning against leaving mead on the lees when using 71B. Would it be a bad idea to bottle condition a cider/cyser that has been fermented with 71B?

Would it be a better idea to pitch some EC 1118 near the end of primary to kill off the 71B and then bottle carb?

Thanks for any input you may have.

Mazer828
01-26-2016, 01:03 AM
I'm no expert on kill factors, etc., but I do know EC-1118 is much heartier and tolerant of ABV than 71B-1122, so if you tossed EC-1118 in at the end of 71B-1122's run, you'd be setting up a secondary ferment, since 71B-1122 will leave some unfermented sugars that the EC-1118 will happily gobble up. I suppose you could set this up with just the right amount of fermentables that there would be nothing left for the EC-1118 to eat but the 71B-1122, but that would be some fancy footwork. Anyway, if you tossed in the EC-1118 at the end and then bottled without stabilizing...BOOM. Just my 3 cents after 3 glasses of wine, and me having my grumpy pants on.

Farmboyc
01-26-2016, 01:19 AM
I was actually planning on about 10% ABV. Take it dry then use priming sugar or carbonation tabs then bottle similar to a beer. Either yeast should be able to run this level dry I would think.

My concern was the residual yeast in the bottles. Would 71B give off flavours if it were to sit dormant in the bottle for a year or two? Would adding EC1118 at about 1.030 be enough to kill off the 71B and avoid this potential pitfall? Or should I just not use 71B if I want things carbonated?

Mazer828
01-26-2016, 01:36 AM