PDA

View Full Version : Barely afforable any more

UUMeader
02-17-2016, 06:30 PM
The cost of honey is rising too fast. Ten years ago, a five gallon batch was a small luxury (maybe a bit more than a batch of wine). Now it's becoming a real luxury. In another ten years it'll be too rich for my blood.

Moreover, because the prices have gone nuts, I'm less likely to believe that the 5lb containers available all over the place are 100% honey.

Wayland
02-17-2016, 07:15 PM
Like most small scale craft industries people are starting to realise that their time and work is worth something.

I used to be grateful that I could earn 50 a day doing something I loved. Now I don't get up in the morning for less than 300 because I know I'm worth it.

No different for bee-keepers I'm guessing.

I used to brew stuff from anything I could afford when I was a student. Some of my best wine back then was made from jars of cheap jam and the yeast I washed off the rice I was going to cook.

Now when looking at ingredients or other stuff, I think to myself, how long would that take me to make and could I earn more money than it costs in that time.

If the answer is "yes" then I buy it. If the answer is "no" I don't. Simple choice really.

Squatchy
02-17-2016, 10:49 PM
The cost of honey is rising too fast. Ten years ago, a five gallon batch was a small luxury (maybe a bit more than a batch of wine). Now it's becoming a real luxury. In another ten years it'll be too rich for my blood.

Moreover, because the prices have gone nuts, I'm less likely to believe that the 5lb containers available all over the place are 100% honey.

I hear ya. One ting,,, if you know your honey provider at least you would know your buying real honey instead of imported honey from China or some other crap that is blended with HFCS or such.

beecarp
02-17-2016, 11:36 PM
You could always become a beekeeper. Just think of all the "free honey".

UUMeader
02-17-2016, 11:42 PM