PDA

View Full Version : Tool Recommendations?

LittleJohn
02-29-2016, 11:09 PM
I'm getting really confused during my acquisition of tools. I've got most of the basics covered, but I'm having issues picking out a good thermometer and ph tester. There are plenty available on amazon and such, but I get put off by bad reviews. So I'm reaching out to all of you. What brands do you find to be worth the money? What have you had the best luck with?

Thanks so very much!

LittleJohn

EbonHawk
03-01-2016, 01:34 AM
I use this pH meter and it works fine.
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01AI10NQ6?keywords=etekcity%20ph%20meter&qid=1456809755&ref_=sr_1_3&sr=8-3

What type of thermometer are we talking about? Regular red-alcohol floating version, a digital probe type (flexible and non-flexible versions), or an infrared type?
I've been using this digital infrared thermometer for a couple of years now, and I never knew how many things around my house that I enjoy knowing the temperature of...and it works great for homebrewing too. No need to sterilize anything. Yeah, occasionally I have to get a little creative with some of the readings. It doesn't like to take the temperature of a reflective surface like the top of boiling wort too well, so I just aim at something that's been submerged in the wort (like my stirring spoon) and I get an accurate reading. I can shoot the side of a fermenter and know within a tenth of a degree what temperature my fermenting brew is. No need to open it up. I still have a digital probe type one with a temperature alarm on it, like for keeping an eye on my mash-water temps while the water is heating up, but 99% of the time I use my IR one for everything else. Works very reliably.

http://www.amazon.com/GXMT55-Non-Contact-Infrared-Thermometer-Targeting/dp/B00GM7KAR8/ref=sr_1_1?s=kitchen&ie=UTF8&qid=1456810240&sr=1-1&keywords=B00GM7KAR8

LittleJohn
03-01-2016, 02:13 PM