PDA

View Full Version : I am new to brewing and Not sure if what's going on is normal

DriftWood
03-14-2016, 06:17 PM
I am making peach mead for my dads birthday and used 3lbs of peaches, 3lbs of clover honey, 1118 yeast, and 1/4 teaspoon of yeast nutrient in the first 24 hours my yeast was bubbling like crazy now not even a week in the activity died down, I would love to take a SG reading but my hydrometer broke so i have to wait for it to ship to my house I got worried and added a 1/2 teaspoon of nutrient but the activity never picked back up the temp my mead is at not core temp but surface temp is 70 deg F, When I added the nutrient everything seemed normal from the yeast growing on the peaches and carbonation. Does this sound normal or should I be worried I know bubbles don't matter all that much but it's takes about 15-30 secs for the next bubble to appear.

Farmboyc
03-14-2016, 06:32 PM
How many gallons is this batch?

DriftWood
03-14-2016, 06:40 PM
the batch I have made for my mead is 1 gallon

heathd666
03-14-2016, 07:11 PM