• PATRONS: Did you know we've a chat function for you now? Look to the bottom of the screen, you can chat, set up rooms, talk to each other individually or in groups! Click 'Chat' at the right side of the chat window to open the chat up.
  • Love Gotmead and want to see it grow? Then consider supporting the site and becoming a Patron! If you're logged in, click on your username to the right of the menu to see how as little as $30/year can get you access to the patron areas and the patron Facebook group and to support Gotmead!
  • We now have a Patron-exclusive Facebook group! Patrons my join at The Gotmead Patron Group. You MUST answer the questions, providing your Patron membership, when you request to join so I can verify your Patron membership. If the questions aren't answered, the request will be turned down.

Hopped Mead Experiment -- need some pointers..

Barrel Char Wood Products

Sadcheese

NewBee
Registered Member
Nov 20, 2015
Hi everyone,

I'm new to this. I've made ~5 one gallon batches of mead and 3 six gallon batches. Still in the first year so only some
of it is drinkable (read: not bochets). I started with cheapo bulk stuff from Save-a-Mart and made a drinkable JAOM.
I followed that up with some high priced but excellent quality local raspberry honey that has an excellent bite to it and
made a great BOMM, only two months old but I've already had most of it. I initially laid out a test for myself that would
be the deciding factor in paying for a bigass bucket of quality honey (Dutch Gold OB): Will my wife like it?
Last night I offered her a drink and of all the various options--I make a ruthless gin gimlet and great Hot Toddy--she
said, "Can I have some more of that mead?" So now I get to order a ton of good honey.

I'd like to make something hopped that my brother-in-law will like. Living in Seattle, right now is high season for
super-hoppy IPAs and I think that doing a hopped mead could be awesome for the crowd that prefers a different set of