PDA

View Full Version : Invitation to play :)

Squatchy
05-13-2016, 01:48 AM
So I wanted to see if some of you guys wanted to join in and do a test with me. I have been having continued success as I add, piece by piece, sound building blocks of modern mead making techniques.

I'm still learning all the time. Speed is by no means the best metric to judge good fermentation practices. No one gives a damn if you can make crap in break neck time. But with that said, I'm blown away with how fast things now happen, and how good things taste so quickly.

Here's an example. I just started a 4 gallon batch (to end up ageing 3 gallons) On the eve of the 5th. It's now the 12th and I have eaten 134 points since I pitched and the last day I have only eaten 6 points. So I am now at that stage where the yeast just barely crawl because of the alcohol toxicity, but I was moving 20 points a day. If I were to cold crash it for a week and then filter out the yeast it would be drinkable as soon as I finished filtering it. There is zero faults and barely, if any fussels. ( I would like to say no fussels but I know I would get scoffers). I should also add this was a pyment with Cab sauv grape concentrate, and it seems the added grape particulates always seem to help the process for sure.

Any way, I think there are several pieces one can employ these days that make this a true turning point in mead making history. I don't claim anything. Everything I have learned has been from reading and trying out what I read. Tossing out the crap and holding on to the things that have given measurable results. By putting these things all together, it now seems to work flawlessly and as fast as anyone could hope for.

I would like to see if any of you guys would want to participate in a group test to see if everyone has close to the same results. I know not everyone has on board the things this test would need you to have. I'm sure some of you do.