PDA

View Full Version : Question about my spices

Ablemedic49
07-02-2016, 12:06 PM
Hello all,

I am new to Got Mead. I would really like to get some veteran knowledge here. I am not new to fermenting, I have been making beer for about 6 months now. I would like to venture into Mead and Wine though. So I decided to start small in case I blow it.

I took this 5 gallon recipe and altered it for 1 gal:

Halfdan's Viking Mead---------------------------------------------------- My recipe:

8-10 lbs pure raw honey--------------------------------------------------2 lbs pure honey (plus 1.5 lbs table sugar, I didn't have enough honey and I wanted a strong mead, I hope I didn't kill my mead doing this)
(or) 12-13 " " " "
(or) 15-16 " " " " ----------------------------------------------- 1 Gallon water
4-5 gallons purified spring water
3 tsp. yeast nutrient ----------------------------------------------- 1 TSP yeast nutrient
1 tsp. acid blend------------------------------------------------------1/4 tsp acid blend
5-7 oz. sliced fresh ginger root ----------------------------------------1/5th a finger of ginger
1/4 tsp. fresh rosemary ----------------------------------------------- 1/8 tsp fresh rosemary
5-6 whole cloves ---------------------------------------------------------3 cloves
1-2 vanilla beans-------------------------------------------------------- 2 tsp vanilla extract
cinnamon/nutmeg -------------------------------------------------- 1/2 cinnamon stick
lime/orange peels--------------------------------------------------------1 orange worth of peels, (no white/rind I scraped it out.)
crushed fruit ------------------------------------------------------------about a cup or 2 of fresh raspberries (steeped then strained)
1 tsp. Irish Moss ----------------------------------------------------------1/2 tsp Irish moss
1/2 tsp. clear gelatin-------------------------------------------------------- 0 gelatin