• PATRONS: Did you know we've a chat function for you now? Look to the bottom of the screen, you can chat, set up rooms, talk to each other individually or in groups! Click 'Chat' at the right side of the chat window to open the chat up.
  • Love Gotmead and want to see it grow? Then consider supporting the site and becoming a Patron! If you're logged in, click on your username to the right of the menu to see how as little as $30/year can get you access to the patron areas and the patron Facebook group and to support Gotmead!
  • We now have a Patron-exclusive Facebook group! Patrons my join at The Gotmead Patron Group. You MUST answer the questions, providing your Patron membership, when you request to join so I can verify your Patron membership. If the questions aren't answered, the request will be turned down.

What is considered a fast ferment time?

Barrel Char Wood Products

Beeker

NewBee
Registered Member
Aug 4, 2016
I'm new to making mead, I just put together my third five gallon batch and wanted to ask what is considered a fast ferment time? SO far every batch I have made has done a primary ferment in about a week. By day two I get a rigorous bubble probably about two or 3 bubbles a second for about two days and now it dropped off to about one a second maybe less. Is this normal?

I used 1 gallon raw honey heated to about 120 for a few minutes, aprox 5 tbl of yeast nutrient a few oranges cut up in thin slices with a few bits of raw ginger boiled in water, 4.5 gallons of spring water and I pitched my yeast (champagne) at approx 80 degrees directly into the carboy.

temps here get up to around 80 or so.

Squatchy

Lifetime GotMead Patron
Lifetime GotMead Patron
Nov 3, 2014
Denver
Hi and welcome to the forum.

This is a long answer question. Speed wouldn't be good at all if it's too fast and makes crappy mead. Slow is also not good if it's slow because you are mistreating your yeast. Happy yeast make nice tasting meads.