PDA

View Full Version : Help with my first batch

Bowman7210
08-17-2016, 08:28 PM
Okay, so long story short this is my first time brewing mead and I'm getting extremely nervous about my first batches. It's been a little more than 4 days and I haven't seen a single bubble go through my Twin Bubble Airlock. I'm using some 2-gallon plastic buckets I ordered off of Label Peelers. Here are the "Recipes" that I'm using.

Regular Honey Mead
3.3 Lbs. Honey
1 Gallon of Water
1 Packet of Lalvin D-47 Yeast
1 Tsp of Yeast Nutrient

Blackberry Mead
3.3 Lbs of Honey
1 Gallon of Water
1 Packet of Lalvin 71B-1122 Yeast
1 Tsp of Yeast Nutrient
1/4 Tsp of Pectic Enzyme

We had sanitized the buckets using disinfecting wipes and a bleach bath for the utensils (A rubber Spatula, a whisk, and some measuring spoons). I'm fairly certain that the lids and the airlocks are firmly in place, and I was just wondering if there was something that I did wrong that might have messed up my batch. They're currently both sitting in my room with has been fluctuating between 62F and 66F. Would removing the lid and looking at the contents mess up my batch by aerating it, and even if it didn't would there be someway to tell if the yeast had died somehow? Would adding another packet of yeast mess up my batch? Are their any suggestions on what I should do? I apologize if this is all basic stuff and can be found elsewhere, but I'm slightly paniking and would love some help from people who actually know what their doing. I also apologize if I messed up with the formatting this post as well.

Thanks a million times to whoever can help me.

Farmboyc
08-17-2016, 08:47 PM
Plastic buckets are notorious for leaking. I would open the bucket and give the mead a stir. In these early stages of fermentation aeration is a good thing. If you have an active fermentation you should see some bubbles release with the stirring this is called de-gasing and should be done at least once a day for the first little while.