PDA

View Full Version : Experienced beer brewer new to mead-making, looking for tips

hendenburg2
08-22-2016, 05:14 PM
Hello all!

So I'm new to mead-making, gearing up to make my first few test batches (doing several 1-gallon batches at the same time, I'll post recipes towards the end), and I'm looking for some tips from old pros. I've been brewing beer for 6 years now, so I'm looking more for the mead-centric side of the scale. Since most of what I've seen recommends letting meads sit for at least several months before bottling/drinking, I'd like to get everything done right the first time.

A few questions I did have -
Bentonite - I've seen a lot of conflicting info on how to use it and how much to use. The only thing I've reliably seen is that you make a slurry with it. What's the proper bentonite/water and bentonite/must ratio? How long do you let it hydrate before adding it? When do you add it (pre-/post-pitch, before mixing the honey with the water, pre-/post- cooling the must to room temp)?
(Asking about this because for beer making, different fining agents are used very differently, for example you have to add Irish Moss to the boiling mash, but boiling Isinglass will neutralize it)

When to add honey - So I've seen some people say to add the honey right after the water finishes boiling and cools down a bit, but before it gets to the bacterial growth range (<135F). I've also seen some people say to add it to room-temp water. The beer brewer side of me says to add the honey before cooling to room temp to aid in mixing and for sanitary reasons (in beer, nothing that isn't sanitized should touch the wort from when it stops boiling until the yeast is pitched and the fermenter is capped, but that's because wort is a more hospitable environment for wild yeast and bacteria).