PDA

View Full Version : Hibiscus Metheglin

caduseus
09-11-2016, 07:05 PM
I have 2 Hibiscus trees that are putting out LOTS of flowers.
I am somewhat new to mead making and have not done any metheglins yet.

Any recipes for combining Hibiscus with mead?
Would it work better with straight mead, a melomel or with other spices.
Any comments or recipes would be much appreciated.

Thanks

Swordnut
09-12-2016, 06:04 AM
Interesting.

Hibiscus is quite mellow in taste. I wouldn't combine it with fruits nor too many other herbs. You should also dry the flower thoroughly beforehand and remove as many of the stems as you can. I'd go for a straight mead as sweet as how you like your tea then essentially brew hibiscus tea in the mead. Check on the extraction progress very regularly until you like the hibiscus-to-mead taste.

I imagine you should serve it chilled on a hot summer evening.

caduseus
09-12-2016, 11:14 AM
I am in the process of drying out JUST the petals right now- which only takes a few days. So you would recommend an off-dry mead or just frankly sweet? (Sorry i came at this from wine-making so usually use those terms)

What about combining with ginger?

loveofrose
09-12-2016, 07:28 PM
Here is the way I enjoy it:
https://www.denardbrewing.com/blog/post/dragon-blood-sorrel-hibiscus-mead/

Better brewing through science!

See my brewing site at www.denardbrewing.com

See my Current Mead Making Techniques article here:
http://www.homebrewtalk.com/current-mead-making-techniques.html

caduseus
09-12-2016, 09:13 PM
I dont see the Hibiscus in the recipe

jwaldo
09-13-2016, 07:45 AM