PDA

View Full Version : Peach MELOMEL

Sammy Garbett
09-19-2016, 07:55 PM
This is my own recipe, just really I want to see what people think about it, I'm new to the mead "game" and tbh I am new to the brewing "game"
I've made this one before it was lovely, just wondering what people would think of this recipe.

Recipe
1gal demijohn
1190g honey
1000g tinned peach with juice
Third of a 5g packet of GV5 yeast
Top wit water
Half a teaspoon yeast nutrient.

Blend all the peach down with the juice, and blend in the honey.
Pour mixture into sterile demijohn.
Top with water.
Add yeast right into the demijohn
Add airlock,

Brew primary for two days then add the yeast nutrients
I normally leave for a week then test for taste and with the hydrometer. (I forgot to take note of my initial reading)
Leave for another week then stop with a Campden tablet, leaving for another week.
Rack off leaving sediment in the bottom,
Rerack for another two weeks. Bottle and enjoy.

Right guys and girls please don't shoot me down.

I need your advice and your comments.

I used to be a chef so I know how to take feedback.

Please fire away.

Peace.

WildPhil
09-19-2016, 08:00 PM
I'm four days into a peach Melomel too, my advice, don't puree the fruit. I did and am regretting it! Slice them up, freeze and thaw and put them in a fermenting bag. I also think some of the more experienced heads are going to tell you to just use the whole pack of yeast. They will definitely guide you the right way though.

Sammy Garbett
09-19-2016, 08:06 PM
Thanks buddy, ok so the amounts of honey then isn't wrong or anything? I have been worried because of seeing people who are adding massive amounts of honey??

Also what's the advantage of brewing for such long times that I have seen as well, does the amount of honey/yeast equal more time to brew without it becoming massively dry? Or am I just missing something??

Farmboyc
09-20-2016, 12:27 PM
That amount of honey should yield around 12% abv.