PDA

View Full Version : What to drink until mead is done and aged?

PDawkins
10-30-2016, 10:23 PM
OK, complete noob here. Really interested in brewing mead. Starting with JAOM, EXACTLY following the recipe. (Read enough to know that... Lol...) Anyway, since decent mead takes anywhere from 6 months (pretty short still) to multiple years to age properly, what am I supposed to drink till then? As an aside, I'm doctor diagnosed Celiac, no gluten. At this point, not too interested in gluten free beer, as I feel it would be hard(er), more expensive, and probably not worth it in the end. I've heard of "quick" and even (nearly) "instant" meads, but are they any good? Not interested in drinking low quality stuff for the sake of speed. Am I stuck buying mead from the liquor store till mine is done? I'm not a snob, it doesn't have to be a "10" to drink, but not a "1" either. What did you do when you started making mead?
Thanks for your answers in advance, and have already learned a LOT lurking here.!

zpeckler
10-30-2016, 11:29 PM
Go to www.denardbrewing.com and learn about the BOMM protocol. Makes very reliable meads that are ready to drink in only a few months.

Squatchy
10-30-2016, 11:43 PM
I don't have any problems making mead with wine yeast that are finished and ready to drink in a few months either. Of coarse any mead will taste better with some age. It's all about the process!

Maylar
10-31-2016, 09:13 AM
Cider. Now is the time, apples are everywhere. Can be ready in 5-6 weeks. Gluten free.

pdh
10-31-2016, 09:53 AM
> Cider

I'll second that! Or cyser if you want higher alcohol content.

curgoth
10-31-2016, 11:25 AM
Going gluten free is what got me into mead. Search on "hydromel" or "short mead" for quick to drink, lower ABV meads. LoveOfRose (Bray of BOMM fame)'s Smreka is great, and comes together pretty quickly.

PitBull
10-31-2016, 03:11 PM
Drink some "jug wine". Then you will have an additional 4 liter carboy for making small and/or experimental batches.