PDA

View Full Version : Young cyser is starting to stink

Sophanax
12-10-2016, 08:13 AM
Hello there,

This is my first post and my second batch of mead, so I'm kinda new to things. I have read all over that cysers can stink to high heaven while fermenting, but just for peace of mind, I'd like some confirmation that my mead is healthy and isn't contaminated or spoiling.

It is a one gallon batch:

4L ~ (just under one gallon hand pressed Ambrosia apple juice - very, very sweet)
1.5lb late summer honey
1tsp ~ Gervin universal wine yeast (no specific strain on packet, unfortunately)
1tsp Yeast nutrient
1 quarter tsp Pectolase (to try and reduce hazing later on)

I didn't take a specific gravity as I haven't invested in a hydrometer yet or learned how to take readings, but it is something I am looking into.

The smell is something like warm, musty rotten apples mixed a little with rotten egg/sulphur.

The colour is a very rich, warm amber, although the juice started a very dark brown.

The air lock is bubbling probably once per second, maybe a little more. The batch itself is in a wardrobe in a cool room, very little fluctuation in temperature. It sees little to no sunlight, only ever ambient light if I open the wardrobe to check it.

caduseus
12-10-2016, 10:36 AM
Hello there,

This is my first post and my second batch of mead, so I'm kinda new to things. I have read all over that cysers can stink to high heaven while fermenting, but just for peace of mind, I'd like some confirmation that my mead is healthy and isn't contaminated or spoiling.

It is a one gallon batch:

4L ~ (just under one gallon hand pressed Ambrosia apple juice - very, very sweet)
1.5lb late summer honey
1tsp ~ Gervin universal wine yeast (no specific strain on packet, unfortunately)
1tsp Yeast nutrient
1 quarter tsp Pectolase (to try and reduce hazing later on)