• PATRONS: Did you know we've a chat function for you now? Look to the bottom of the screen, you can chat, set up rooms, talk to each other individually or in groups! Click 'Chat' at the right side of the chat window to open the chat up.
  • Love Gotmead and want to see it grow? Then consider supporting the site and becoming a Patron! If you're logged in, click on your username to the right of the menu to see how as little as $30/year can get you access to the patron areas and the patron Facebook group and to support Gotmead!
  • We now have a Patron-exclusive Facebook group! Patrons my join at The Gotmead Patron Group. You MUST answer the questions, providing your Patron membership, when you request to join so I can verify your Patron membership. If the questions aren't answered, the request will be turned down.

Newb trying to understand...

Barrel Char Wood Products

crgjhnsn

NewBee
Registered Member
Jun 6, 2016
Roseburg, Oregon
I'm very new to mead making. I've done a couple batches of JAOM, and one JAO BOMM. Those have turned out great. I have now tried making another mead recipe, and had a question about gravity readings. On 12/5 when I started (before adding yeast) the gravity was 1.126, 12/7 it was 1.120, and on 12/10 it's reading 1.050. The first reading I believe I did a good job getting the honey dissolved in, but I'm new so who knows. The other two readings I didn't check the temp on. Room the mead is in has stayed pretty consistent temperature wise, for what it's worth. My question is between the last two readings is that a big/fast drop in gravity? This is the first batch I've done regular gravity readings with, so I'm learning as I go. Thanks in advance for any input. Also when I started this one I screwed up and doubled the amount of yeast energizer ( addressed this in another post ).

pwizard

NewBee
Registered Member
Oct 17, 2015
Birmingham, AL