PDA

View Full Version : Hi all! Just a very basic first question about this new hobby.

jpollman
02-19-2017, 09:23 PM
Howdy all!

I'm glad to have found this forum. I am VERY new in the hobby of brewing and mead making. Here's a very quick overview of my situation.

My name is John Pollman and I'm almost 53 years old. My son loved chemistry and such and was very interested in brewing. He talked about it for a while, and a little less than a year ago, we got the equipment together and brewed our first batch of beer. It was great fun and we did several batches that came out very well. He mentioned doing a batch of mead. A few months ago, I picked up a mead kit. It sat around for a while and we never did anything with it. Back in early December, I decided to take the bull by the horns and get started.

I followed the recipe for the basic mead kit that I bought, but the recipe said that you might want to enhance it a bit by adding some additional ingredients. I decided to do that. I did the basic recipe, but added some spices, raisins, and some orange slices. The recipe was followed and it said to let it ferment for two to three weeks, then rack it. (I'm assuming that "racking" is just transferring it to another sterilized container for the balance of the aging process) I can research that later. Here is what is going on.

I made the recipe on December 04, 2016. We put it up to ferment for the 2-3 weeks. One week later on December 11, our 20 year old son died completely unexpectedly. As you can imagine, I had completely forgotten about the mead batch sitting there fermenting. I didn't even think about it until just a few days ago. It has now been almost three months. Here is the question...

Is this batch ruined because it sat so long without being racked? If so, that's fine. I'll probably get back into it again some time soon and make a fresh batch. If not, I'll rack it and proceed from here. I understand that it takes at least six months to a year for a decent batch.