PDA

View Full Version : Racking to Secondary Questions

max.barbarian
07-02-2017, 09:20 AM
Okay, so I know this is likely redundant, but is there a set point where one racks their batch over to a secondary? In Schramm's text he mentions 2 weeks, which I did for my first batch:

1 Gallon
3 lbs Clover Honey
1 packet Lalvin 71B-1122
0.4 tsp yeast nutrient (food grade urea, diammonium phosphate)
0.2 tsp yeast energizer (diammonium phosphate again, springcell, magnesium sulphate)

I was a total Newbee and did this without a hydrometer (I have one now that I've been using for the past couple of batches so don't bash me too hard).

Anyways, I let this batch sit in the primary, waited for the fermentation to slow, then racked over to a secondary (both primary and secondary are one-gallon glass carboys) approximately two weeks later. I bottled after a halt in visible fermentation activity two weeks after the first racking once it had clarified nicely. I was curious, and cracked open a bottle to try and it was definitely not a still mead. I have campden tablets but wasn't sure how to use them, and being slightly crunchy-granola, I figured I'd leave out extra chemicals.

Should I be worried about the other bottles from that first batch with the inadvertent carbonation?

With my subsequent two batches, I've used the same recipe, but took SG readings for both (1.20). Those two are sitting in their primaries still, on top of the lees-- one has been sitting for about a month, and the other for about 2 weeks. Should I rack the first over to a secondary to get it off the lees and avoid potential off-notes? There's no airlock activity, but it still has bubbles every now and again rising to the surface of the must.

Sorry for the long post, thanks for any tips!

Squatchy
07-03-2017, 11:39 PM