• PATRONS: Did you know we've a chat function for you now? Look to the bottom of the screen, you can chat, set up rooms, talk to each other individually or in groups! Click 'Chat' at the right side of the chat window to open the chat up.
  • Love Gotmead and want to see it grow? Then consider supporting the site and becoming a Patron! If you're logged in, click on your username to the right of the menu to see how as little as $30/year can get you access to the patron areas and the patron Facebook group and to support Gotmead!
  • We now have a Patron-exclusive Facebook group! Patrons my join at The Gotmead Patron Group. You MUST answer the questions, providing your Patron membership, when you request to join so I can verify your Patron membership. If the questions aren't answered, the request will be turned down.

My specifig gravity

Barrel Char Wood Products

mhafer5723

NewBee
Registered Member
Aug 25, 2017
I'm new to the mead life and having a hard time with my hydrometer. I'm testing a batch of black currant mead that I added 2 1/2 lb of Currants and 3 lbs of mead and my test gravity is showing right above 1.000 does that sound right

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G935A using Tapatalk

darigoni

Got Mead? Patron
GotMead Patron
Jun 4, 2016
Brookline, NH
This really isn't the right place for this question. It should have been posted in the Mead Newbee forum.

You need to clarify. Have you already made a mead and are now adding fruit to it? If so, when talking about mead, you usually talk in liters or gallons, not pounds.

Or are you confusing the term mead with honey?

3 lbs of mead or 3 lbs of honey?

3 lbs of mead would be approx. 1/2 gallon (or less), right?

Last edited:

mhafer5723

NewBee
Registered Member
Aug 25, 2017
Sorry yes 3lb of honey and 71B for my yeast

darigoni

Got Mead? Patron
GotMead Patron
Jun 4, 2016
Brookline, NH
You really need to write down your whole recipe.

Are you using any nutrients?