• PATRONS: Did you know we've a chat function for you now? Look to the bottom of the screen, you can chat, set up rooms, talk to each other individually or in groups! Click 'Chat' at the right side of the chat window to open the chat up.
  • Love Gotmead and want to see it grow? Then consider supporting the site and becoming a Patron! If you're logged in, click on your username to the right of the menu to see how as little as $30/year can get you access to the patron areas and the patron Facebook group and to support Gotmead!
  • We now have a Patron-exclusive Facebook group! Patrons my join at The Gotmead Patron Group. You MUST answer the questions, providing your Patron membership, when you request to join so I can verify your Patron membership. If the questions aren't answered, the request will be turned down.

Did I start my batch with too low O.G.?

Barrel Char Wood Products

veektor

NewBee
Registered Member
Jan 2, 2005
Hi, everyone. I am new to the home wine/mead making scene, though I'm not new to the drinking ;) Though this is a troubleshooting forum, I will try to introduce myself first.

I've had an interest in mead for a long time. I grew up in Russia, reading the classic folk fairy tales, where meads have a prominent role in many festivities. Also, my grandfather was a bee keeper for a long time, though he rarely used honey for his alcohol needs. In retrospect, he probably should have focused more on that, instead of distilling bread+sugar based musts, which ultimately caused him to lose eyesight. Nonetheless, I grew up with some knowlege and considerable liking for honey.

In November, my wife brought home a wine making kit, and we jumped into a batch of Zinfandel Blush, which so far is turning out barely drinkable, and my threshold is pretty low. We'll let it age in the bottles some and see what happens.