PDA

View Full Version : How long does a melomel keep?

Talon
08-01-2004, 10:41 PM
What I'm doing is making mead for my stepson and his best friend this year as they start highschool. I'm going to age it for the 4 full years and on their graduation at their graduation party, they will get 1 of the 6 gallons. The remaining 5 will sit and bulk age again until they are 21. Then it will be bottled and given to them then.

They are thinking of possibly a melomel and I wasn't sure a melomel would last that long due to the fruit. Ultimately the question is, how long will a melomel keep and still be drinkable before it turns to a putrid mess?

I've had a wine keep for 5 years before having an off taste is a melomel like that? Or does the honey help preserve the flavor and drinkablitiy of the mead?

Thanks,
Talon.

Rurouni85Samurai
08-02-2004, 02:30 AM
I thought it could be aged basically forever? Would like to know also.

Norskersword
08-02-2004, 03:15 AM
I'm no expert on this but my understanding is that as long as you follow the sanitation rules, you should be fine. Alcohol doesn't go bad after awile the way fruit juice does, as long as you are clean.

Supposedly it is possible to over age, but I doubt 5 years is over aging. Certain factors will have an impact on how long you can keep it, though, like how much headspace you have (oxidization).

Talon
08-02-2004, 06:59 PM
I'm thinking along the same lines as you since honey is a natural antibiotic, etc, that a melomel should keep for a good while, but as I'm not 100% on the subject, I figured I'd get a concensus. ;)

Talon.

Jmattioli
08-02-2004, 10:36 PM