PDA

View Full Version : To Each His/Her Own

Marion
03-02-2004, 07:42 PM
I'm a newbie, as you can very well see. But, I would like to see some more dicussion on this subject. Thus, my stirring the pot.

It seems there are, basically, three schools of "Meadist".

1: The Naturally Historical Cult: It seems this group, as a general rule, has a keen interest in history, even to the point of living it, within their own soul. Being scarred as we are, we tend to think we should use basic, "earthy" recipes, that may have been common or similar during the time period we immortalize.

2: The Naturalist Cult: Although this cult tends to blend with the Naturally Historical Cult and visa-versa, it also has a following of its own. These persons micro-manage everything the place in their mouth. If its not "earthy", without any additives, forget it. It's poison.

3: The Modernist Cult: These guys tend to take advantage of every new gadget that comes on the market. They devour chemistry material like a first year pharmacy student. Making Mead, without measuring all these chemical balances/imbalances and utilizing the most modern efficient means in insuring bacteria is non-existant in their must, would be akin to building a boat in total darkness.

Then, I suppose there could be a cult #4, which is a healthy balance of all the above. But, nah, that wouldn't be any fun.

Hidalgo
03-02-2004, 08:36 PM
Heh heh. I guess I'm a mix then. I'll do whatever I need to do to make my mead taste just the way I want it to taste.
:)

ThistyViking
03-03-2004, 12:41 AM
Of those cults you have extremeists of every stripe... Disclaimer: I tread close to the 2nd option

but:

1 . Historical ... often involved in Renactment societies.... Historical refrences like the Digby. Personally I'm of the opinion Very little mead is actually made this way. If it is it involves Boiling, skimming, flowers in the must, and an Egg used as a hydrometer.