PDA

View Full Version : Lychee mead?

JamesB
11-07-2004, 04:18 AM
Has anyone ever done a mead with lychees? Where did you get the ingredients? How did it turn out? ::)

jab
11-07-2004, 10:04 AM
I had not thought if this before. I believe that would be an interesting quaff. I have only had lychee's at a local Chinese joint. Keep us updated if you find a supplier.

JamesB
11-09-2004, 06:19 AM
Here's a supplier:
http://www.lycheesonline.com/

They're going to send me some lychee syrup with which I'll try making a sample five gallon batch. I'm planning on using clover honey, but haven't decided yet on a yeast to use. Any suggestions? :P

jab
11-09-2004, 08:15 AM
Well, by most standards I am pretty new to the sport. I have a few batches under my belt and another few in the closet. I have become partial to Montrachet. The last one stuck on me but other than that it has been a wonderful worker.

Oh, and thanks for the link I will check them out.

jab
11-27-2004, 04:15 AM
At this point I would have to suggest that people not use http://www.lycheesonline.com/. Their service is horrible and they are not friendly netizens.

I first inquired about their honey after JamesB suggested the link. I noticed that they sold honey but in 1 lb. jars. I asked if it would be possible to get it in larger quantities and if I could get a quote. It was suggested to me to just buy the syrup.

I sent another email stating that I am sure their syrup was fine but I was interested in the honey.

A week goes by with no response. I send another request. Another week and no response.

Finally I sent a somewhat pointed reply about their lack of customer service and how it would have been better for them to just say no from the beginning. I did get a reply stating something about them having all sorts of issues with this and that...and that I should just buy the syrup.