• PATRONS: Did you know we've a chat function for you now? Look to the bottom of the screen, you can chat, set up rooms, talk to each other individually or in groups! Click 'Chat' at the right side of the chat window to open the chat up.
  • Love Gotmead and want to see it grow? Then consider supporting the site and becoming a Patron! If you're logged in, click on your username to the right of the menu to see how as little as $30/year can get you access to the patron areas and the patron Facebook group and to support Gotmead!
  • We now have a Patron-exclusive Facebook group! Patrons my join at The Gotmead Patron Group. You MUST answer the questions, providing your Patron membership, when you request to join so I can verify your Patron membership. If the questions aren't answered, the request will be turned down.

Bitter To Better?

Barrel Char Wood Products

Helios

NewBee
Registered Member
Sep 6, 2004
I am very new to mead Making. I have made beer and wine for years but started my first batch of mead May/June of 2003.
Its a year later (plus a few months) and although over the past year it has changed from foul and nasty to ehh tasting, it still isnt "right".
The SG is down to just aboit 1.000 and didnt respond to kick starting fermentation so I think its as far as it will get in area. As far as aging I guess it could go a long time B4 it reaches completion. Right now the aroma says some kind of mead, the taste says some kind of alcohol but is bitter to the taste.
Is there a way of toneing down the acidity. I only added Apples and Cinnamon to the original honey and water mix.

Jmattioli

Lifetime GotMead Patron
Hello Helios,
Can you post the exact recipe with amounts of each ingredients (type and amount of honey, yeast, etc.), starting gravity and any other information so we can give you a more informed opinion. Did you use Apple juice or apples? How much cinammon?
Joe

Oskaar

Got Mead Partner
Administrator
Dec 26, 2004
The OC